First review of 2017 -A Suitable Lie by Michael J Malone

a-suitable-lie

I thought long and hard about what was going to be my first book read of 2017. A Suitable Lie had been on my TBR for a while, and when I saw it reviewed on another bloggers site, I knew it needed to be moved up the TBR pile.

Andy is a young widower. His wife, Patricia, died in childbirth and Andy is left to bring up their son, Pat, alone. When Pat is four, Andy meets Anna after he is reluctantly forced out into the world by his brother Jim.

Andy and Anna quickly fall in love. Anna is fun, feisty and beautiful, and she totally takes to Pat (and he to her). Andy thinks he’s the luckiest man in the world, but when he ends up in hospital on their wedding night, you get your first insight into whether Anna is really  as fabulous as she first seems.

A Suitable Lie is tagged as a psychological thriller, and I suppose on the surface, it is. But it is so much more than the sum of its parts. I found the novel extremely difficult to read at times. Dark, disturbing and sickening in parts. On more than one occasion, I had to close my kindle and take a break. It was just too hard to read on, but once I’d recovered, I dived straight back in. The writing was just too good not to.

Unlike some other psychological thrillers, A Suitable Lie doesn’t hide who the good guys and the bad guys are, and I found myself totally engaged in Andy’s life (made easier no doubt because the whole novel is told from Andy’s point of view). More than that, though, I really liked Andy, and I wanted him to have the happiness he so obviously deserved.

This novel tackles the difficult subject of domestic violence, but in this instance, the victim is the man not the woman, and I love Michael J Malone for bringing this issue into mainstream fiction. There is a long way to go before society mans up and does what is needed here (brought beautifully to life by the author in one particular scene), but the more people talk about it, the quicker this issue will be taken more seriously and then we are on our way to solving it. Michael J Malone has played his part here.

This novel will definitely be in my top 10 reads of 2017 – and it’s only the 3rd January. It’s that good.

Don’t wait. Get yours today.

Leave a Reply

