The End of Nano for another year

nano-lobo

I started out November and the National Novel Writing Month with huge positivity and anticipation of getting 50,000 words down of a romantic thriller I’ve had whirring around my head for some time. I was willing to put aside everything else whilst I focused on just getting the words down and silencing my inner editor and rather fearsome inner critic.

However, the month did not progress quite how I had imagined. Just about everything that could go wrong, did. Work, family issues, friends needing support. It was like the perfect storm.

And so as NaNo comes to an end and I review my achievements, they aren’t quite what I’d hoped for at the beginning.

Looking on the bright side, though, I do have significant outlines for two books (one more developed than the other) which is a lot more than I had at the start of November. And so it is, with an attitude much more towards ‘glass half full’ I look forward to December and the new year and a chance to flesh out these ideas.

I’m also working on the final editing of book one in a trilogy that I anticipate will be out early in 2017. The plan is to publish the whole trilogy as quickly as possible.

And of course, December means I can get back to making inroads into my significantly large TBR pile – after all, what’s better as winter draws in than curling up beside the fire with a hot chocolate and a good book.

 

2 thoughts on “The End of Nano for another year

Leave a Reply

