Celebrating Four Years of Blackthorn


Happy Anniversary Blackthorn! November marks four years since the release of Blood Shadows, book one in the stunning paranormal series by British author, Lindsay J. Pryor.

I first discovered Blackthorn when I was bemoaning to a dear friend of mine that I had nothing to read. I was in a real ‘readers slump’ and whatever I picked up didn’t hold my attention, and I found myself with plenty of half-read books but nothing that grabbed me, that absorbed me into another world, that yelled ‘At Last! Here’s something different!’

And then she introduced me to Blackthorn. At the time, Blood Shadows, the first in the series was out, as was Blood Roses, the second book. I downloaded them both on the advice of my friend…and I’ve never looked back since.

Any books in the PNR genre tend to get compared to the brilliant JR Ward and her Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Now don’t get me wrong; I LOVE Ward and all the ‘Brothers’, but whereas those books give me a warm and fuzzy feeling, Blackthorn is much darker, grittier and infinitely more absorbing.

Lindsay J Pryor has created what the PNR world has been craving for; a different take on the PNR genre.

Yes, they are love stories, but they are far from sweet. The love that the four couples Blackthorn centres around is hard-won. Blackthorn is not a place for the faint-hearted, and Lindsay J Pryor doesn’t shy away from putting her characters (and her readers) through the wringer. In Blackthorn, no-one is safe. Characters you have come to adore die, our main heroes and heroines have to make terrible choices that don’t just pull on your heartstrings, they wrench your heart straight out of your chest and stamp on it for good measure.

If you’re already a fan of the series then I’m sure you’ll agree that four years since the first Blackthorn book, Blood Shadows, was released is definitely a date worth celebrating. If you haven’t discovered the series yet, allow me to introduce you. Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to Blackthorn…




‘Blood Shadows has a vibe reminiscent of J.R Ward’s Black Dagger series, both sexy, unrelenting and blood-thirsty.’ Lindsey Clarke

Gifted with the ability to read the shadows of ‘third species’ beings, Caitlin Parish is the Vampire Control Unit’s most powerful agent. Despite that, her mission to hunt down Kane Malloy – a master vampire – comes with a death wish. Many have tried, but few have survived.

For Caitlin, tracking Kane is about more than just professional reputation. With her parents both mysteriously killed 7 years apart to the day, Caitlin knows that without Kane’s help she is next.

She has four days to make a deal with the wicked, the irresistible, the treacherous Kane Malloy. The vampire who despises everything she stands for. Or die.

Combining sizzling passion and dark, sinfully seductive vampire heroes, Lindsay J. Pryor’s writing is an exciting new find for those who love paranormal romance and urban fantasy

Blood Shadows is available for only 0.99 on Amazon!

Buy Links: AmazonUk | Amazon.com | Kobo | GooglePlay

About Lindsay J. Pryor


Lindsay J. Pryor is the author of seven novels in her Amazon bestselling BLACKTHORN series. Her complex, dark and gritty urban PNR has achieved numerous Gothic and PNR Amazon number ones both in the UK and the US, thousands of 5 star reviews, and more than thirty blog nominations and awards. Blood Shadows – Lindsay’s debut novel – was optioned by US film giants Relativity Media.

Lindsay has been creating stories since she was nine years old, having quickly decided that fantasy was more interesting than reality. More than thirty years later, writing remains her passion.

Lindsay is a qualified Psychology lecturer and English teacher. Before becoming a full-time author, she taught for eighteen years, primarily to improve literacy for children with special needs. She was born and grew up in Wales but now lives in England with her husband, their rescue bunny and a plethora of wild woodland creatures.

To find out more about Lindsay or her books, please visit http://www.lindsayjpryor.com or visit her Facebook page where she regularly chats to her readers.

Main Website – http://www.lindsayjpryor.com

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/lindsayjpryor.author

Twitter – http://twitter.com/lindsayjpryor

Pinterest – http://uk.pinterest.com/lindsayjpryor

LinkedIn – http://uk.linkedin.com/in/lindsayjpryor

Google+ – http://plus.google.com/+LindsayJPryor

Blackthorn has an overarching plot which extends throughout each book. This series is best read in order.

Reading order:

Blood Shadows

Blood Roses

Blood Torn

Blood Deep

Blood Dark

Blood Instinct

Blood Bound

Blood Broken – awaiting release date!

I hope you enjoyed your journey into Blackthorn. For more celebrations, please visit Lindsay’s Facebook page and her blog. There will be more Kane and a giveaway or two!

And for those out there who love talking about Blackthorn with like-minded folks, why not join Blackthorn & Beyond: Fans of Lindsay J Pryor. They’re a friendly bunch and would love to welcome new members. You can find them at https://www.facebook.com/groups/434089966715230/



20 thoughts on “Celebrating Four Years of Blackthorn

  1. Brilliant post! Love this series and the guys!!! I haven’t been able to put it down either.

    I only started on Blackthorn a year and a half ago. I binge read Blood Shadows in a day and the other 3 or 4 the rest of the week 😮


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s