It’s NaNo Time!

nano-lobo

For anyone new to NaNo, it’s the world acclaimed National Novel Writing Month, when writers from all over the world commit to writing 50,000 words in a month. NaNo runs from 1st to 30th November, and many brilliant books have been born during that crazy month where writers desperately try to silence their inner editor and just get the words down!

My personal favourite book born out of NaNo is the brilliant Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. If you haven’t read it, and dark psychological thrillers are your thing, I highly recommend it.

Believe me, committing to writing 50,000 words in a month is easier said than done, particularly if you work full time (as I do). This is my third foray into NaNo (I’ve had one success and one…..well, not as much of a success (I refuse to use the word failure – even if you only get 5 words down, it’s 5 more than you had a the start of NaNo).

For the first time during NaNo, I’ve got a real community around me. Book reviewing and blogging has allowed me to meet so many fabulous writers, and it’s comforting to know, during those dark times mid-month, that others are struggling just as much as you. It’s great knowing you can reach out for help, and offer your own support, to such a wonderful community.

The downside of committing to NaNo is it is just that – a massive commitment. Therefore, there is no time for reading. In fact, there is no time to do pretty much anything other than write, write, write.

So it’ll be a bit quiet here at my blog for the next few weeks. I’ll try and check in half way through to let you all know how I’m doing (or maybe sob with you all, just a little bit).

My TBR list continues to grow, however, so December is going to be a fabulous month of catching up on everything I’ve not been able to get around to. I’m looking forward to it already!

See you on the other side – December!

 

Leave a Reply

