Review Time – We Are All Made Of Stars by Rowan Coleman

we-are-all-made-of-stars

As those who follow my blog know, it’s been a tough couple of weeks and I’ve been off pretty much everything book related. So as I started to emerge through the other side, I searched my TBR for something to read that would be uplifting (Crime/Psychological Thriller would not do at this juncture).

And it was then I spotted We Are All Made of Stars which was a recommendation by Tracy Fenton from The Book Club (#TBCONFB) when I said I was looking for a romance novel with the ‘Ahhhh’ factor.

Let me start by saying this book delivers on that front. I loved it. Took me through a gamut of emotions and spat me out the other end – and you know what? It’s definitely made me feel better. What more could an author or reader ask for?

And now to my review.

The book focuses on three main narrators; Stella, who is married to an ex-soldier who is fighting his own demons of war; Hope, a twenty-one year old girl with a chronic illness who has given up and pretty much accepted her fate of early death; and Hugh, a bow-tied historian who lives with a cat called Jake – an unwanted gift from an old girlfriend who left without taking Jake with her. Suffice to say, Hugh is a reluctant cat owner!

Interspersed with the stories of these three characters are letters that Stella (a nurse in a hospice) writes on behalf of those who want their loved ones to have a final message before they die. I loved these sprinklings of final thoughts from characters we didn’t know and wouldn’t meet. Some were heartfelt, some extremely funny, some sad, and none of them detracted from the stories of the three main characters; rather they enhanced those stories.

I loved all the three main characters, but it was Stella who touched my heart the most. The story of her life with Vincent, before and after the ravages of war changed everything, tore at my heartstrings. Both are suffering from events that neither deserved, but isn’t that what happens in life; bad things happen to good people.

And that’s what I perhaps loved the most about this novel; the sheer ‘realness’ of it all. This is the first book I’ve read by Rowan Coleman, but it was so beautifully written that I will definitely be seeking out more.

Highly recommended. Go check it out.

Leave a Reply

