Review of Edward Unspooled by Craig Lancaster

edward-unspooled

I’m on holiday at the moment, and reviewing was supposed to wait until I returned home (as a nod to my ever suffering husband who tries his best to understand my obsession with books, but often fails), but sadly I, too, have failed. Reviewing is in my DNA as much as reading.

Now, normally when I review a book, I start with the things that I liked or, in rare cases, didn’t like, but in this instance I’m going to start with a statement.

I am officially in mourning! I have been both looking forward to and dreading this final (sobs) instalment in this fabulous series about a man called Edward Stanton Jr. who started out as a 39 year old and is now a 45 year old man with Aspergers Syndrome, along with a pretty serious case of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

I would say it is imperative to read the earlier novels, 600 Hours of Edward and Edward Adrift before undertaking Edward Unspooled, and it is with that in mind that I make this warning.

Do Not Read On If You Have Not Read The Previous Two Novels

Not that my review contains any spoilers for this novel (I endeavour never to do that), but it does state a couple of things that you would already know if you’d read the previous books.

In this final instalment, we catch up with Edward after he has married Sheila Renfro (now Sheila Renfro Stanton). Edward’s life continues to have its challenges, not least that Sheila is now pregnant which Edward is not at all sure about.

Edward Unspooled is told through a series of diary entries to the baby, both from Edward’s perspective, and from Sheila’s.

Edward’s diary entries are funny, insightful and almost childlike (which is very much Edward’s style) and his journey through Sheila’s pregnancy is wonderfully uplifting. As usual, there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments (Edward is pretty funny sometimes) as well as the heartrending scenes I’ve come to expect from Craig Lancaster. Having said that, you can definitely see growth in Edward in this final book of the series.

I love his interactions with his friend Scott Shamwell. For two people who couldn’t be more different, their growing friendship warms my heart.

Edward’s mother continues to make me clench my fists and want to barrel into battle in defence of Edward, such is her downright inappropriate interfering in a grown man’s life, but it seems Edward doesn’t need any help – he manages perfectly well on his own.

This is probably my favourite out of all the ‘Edward’ books, but each one is wonderfully told. I am sure a ‘real’ Edward would annoy the hell out of me, but he would also charm and enchant me, and make me feel utterly privileged to be in his life. That is how I have felt reading these books.

And I shall now revert to my mourning!

Happy reading.

 

Leave a Reply

