Review of The Step Mother by Claire Seeber

The Step Mother

I’m quite into my psychological thrillers at the moment, so when I saw a lot of folks on THE Book Club on Facebook were raving about this one, of course, I had to download it.

The story is told from the POV of two sisters, Jeanie and Marlena with the basic premise being the difficulty in blending two families from completely different backgrounds.

But this book is much more than that.

I will admit that I found the book difficult to get into at first, but then for me, at around 37%, BAM, the story lifted off and I was hooked through to the end.

Jeanie is a difficult character to like at first; she is ditsy to say the least, which leads her to start to question her own sanity. At times, I wanted to scream “focus”, because if she had, things would have been different….but then we wouldn’t have had a book! And she is such a people pleaser. I would have loved to have stepped in and stuck up for her at times, something her incredibly selfish sister, Marlena, had the opportunity to do on so many occasions, but failed to.

The story is not told in a traditional way; for example, when you are reading a scene from Marlena’s POV, she is speaking directly to you, the reader, which I found a little difficult to get used to. But once I was hooked by the story, I no longer noticed the unusual way the author has written the book because I was dying to find out the truth.

This is the first novel I’ve read from Claire Seeber, but I definitely enjoyed it enough to seek out her other work.

In summary, I really liked this book, and would recommend it for people who like a psychological thriller that is also an easy read.

Leave a Reply

