Review of Charlie and Pearl by Tammy Robinson

Charlie and Pearl

This book was recommended to me through TBC (THE Book Club) on Facebook and as I love to discover new authors, I purchase a copy.

Charlie and Pearl is such a sweet book. Charlie starts out as little more than a boy, even though he’s twenty-four, but by the end of the book, he really grows into a man. He’s spent his whole life in a small town in New Zealand, and still lives with his mum, but when Pearl blows into his life, she turns it upside down in the most wonderful of ways.

Pearl is trying to get over a recent breakup, and decides to spend the winter at her Grandmother’s beach house close to a small town.

When they first meet, it’s fireworks for Charlie, but little more than a damp squib for Pearl. I loved the fact the author didn’t have them falling into each others arms at first sighting. Their slow growing relationship was extremely realistic.

This book is extremely funny in parts, and heart wrenchingly poignant in others. I have to be honest and say that I spotted what was coming probably before the author wanted me to, but that did not spoil my enjoyment one iota.

The last page is a killer. Tissues at the ready.

This is the first book I’ve read by Tammy Robinson, but based on what I’ve researched, it won’t be my last.

 

Leave a Reply

