Review of A Thousand Small Explosions – John Marrs

A Thousand Small Explosions

I first noticed this book was getting a lot of attention through TBC (THE Book Club on Facebook). I love discovering new authors and so I duly downloaded. It was a Monday night and I barely had any time before the weekend to read it.

That said, with an hour or so before I had to go to bed, I opened the book.

Big mistake. Huge mistake.

Because I couldn’t put the damn thing down.

With my eyelids drooping at twenty five percent in, I relented and fell into bed a little before midnight, only to wake up at 5 a.m. with an overwhelming urge to grab that kindle and carry on where I’d left off.

7.15 a.m. and I reluctantly set off for work. Gosh Tuesday was one of the longest days of my life. I actually considered calling in sick! But I’m a good corporate citizen so I went to work and tried to concentrate. I failed.

I walked through the door on Tuesday evening and before I’d kicked off my shoes, the kindle was open and I was immersed once more. I didn’t eat. I didn’t drink. I didn’t speak to my husband until I’d finished the wonderfully entitled A Thousand Small Explosions.

The premise of the book is so unusual – a human gene has been discovered which means that each one of us has a ‘perfect match’. Once we find our Match, our lives are complete. We find our soul mate, and all other relationships pale into insignificance.

Sounds great – right?

Yeah, for some it is. For others, not so much.

The story is told from five different individual perspectives. The style of writing John Marrs adopts isn’t my usual preferred style. It’s almost omniscient in parts, third person subjective in others. I love reading books written in Deep POV – that style immerses me in the head of the character, and ultimately the story. However John managed to draw me deep into the lives of these five people by using a style I’m not used to. In a way, Deep POV wouldn’t have worked so well, especially for Christopher. Not sure I’d have wanted to get any deeper into Christopher’s head – the distant view I had was quite enough thank you (No spoilers!)

If you’re looking for an extremely immersive read with a unique storyline, give A Thousand Small Explosions a try. You won’t be disappointed

Leave a Reply

