Review – The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza

The Girl in the Ice

I read another review recently where the reviewer said that they weren’t going to read another book with ‘The Girl….’ In the title, but had given this one a go regardless. I felt the same, but because this book seemed to be getting so much attention, I clicked on that ‘Buy now’ button on Amazon and waited for it to appear on the home screen of my kindle.

And boy, I’m glad I did.

DCI Erika Foster is called into the Metropolitan Police to head up a murder investigation into the death of a young socialite, who also happens to be the daughter of a very influential member of the British establishment. And because of that, the investigation was complicated by constant interference from the dead girl’s father, and the political dance that ensues.

You can read the book blurb yourself, so I won’t go into the details here, but what I would say is that I loved Erika. She is damaged, impetuous at times, and some of the decisions she made had me screaming at my kindle for her to stop. But she is real, so very real. We see her bleed. She has balls of steel, of course she does (necessary in her particular field), but she also empathises and feels for the victims, and I loved this softer side the author allowed us to see in Erika’s private moments.

There are also some fabulous supporting cast characters, Moss and Peterson, who are a brilliant foil for Erika. I can’t wait to read more about them in future books in this series.

You are definitely taken on a rollercoaster ride with this novel, and you are kept guessing who the killer is, right up to the end. I admit, I only figured it out at exactly the same time Erika did – LOVE it when that happens.

Robert’s prose is wonderful. Tight, descriptive (but not too much), and effortless. Through his words on the page, we are taken deep into the essence of Erika, which is a large part of the reason I loved her so much.

If you’re wondering what all the fuss is about, know that it is competely justified. Really, superb job….

Off now to download The Night Stalker.

One thought on “Review – The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza

Leave a Reply

