Review Time – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Unknown

Me Before You was recommended by a friend, and I have to say, when I read the book blurb, I was magnificently underwhelmed. It didn’t sound at all like the type of book I like to read.

My god, how wrong I was.

And thank goodness, I trusted my friend enough to give it a go.

Lou Clark is a small town girl with a small town life and small town ambitions. But when she finds herself unemployed from a job she loved, waitressing at The Buttered Bun, and with very little prospects, she takes a job as carer to Will Traynor, a quadriplegic following a motorbike accident two years ago.

Sounds pretty dull so far, right? Wrong.

What follows is a funny, sad, bitter, uplifting, sombre and joyous journey. Through Lou’s rather “unique” take on life, Will finds that his existence in a wheelchair, unable to move, is anything but. Lou and Will could not be more different as individuals, and yet, through being thrust together, discover how truly magical life can be.

I won’t spoil the ending for those that haven’t read this novel (who is that??), but what I will say is that I cried. A lot. A lot, a lot, a lot. But I also laughed an enormous amount. And it made me take a very hard look at my own life and realise it’s pretty wonderful. In fact, it’s better than that.

Me Before You is due to be released in cinemas on 2nd June 2016, and I for one, will be queueing up to get my tickets with my hands firmly pressed in prayer that Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin manage to visually recreate a modicum of what Jojo Moyes achieved by the written word alone.

If you haven’t yet read it – please do. You are missing out on a truly magical experience that will stay with you long after you have finished reading.

A massively stupendous Five Stars.

 

Leave a Reply

